Tell a Friend



The spine, also called the back bone, plays a vital role in stability, smooth movement and protection of the delicate spinal cord. It is made up of bony segments called vertebra with fibrous tissue called intervertebral discs between them. The vertebra and discs form the spinal column from the head to the pelvis, giving symmetry and support to the body.

The spine can be divided into 3 parts:

  • Cervical spine comprises the first 7 vertebrae of the spinal column, which form the neck.
  • Thoracic spine is the central part of the spine, also called as dorsal spine, which runs from the base of the neck to the bottom of your rib cage.
  • Lumbar spine is composed of the lower 5 vertebrae, which have been numbered L1–L5.